- advertisement -
Bankrate's 2009 Tax Guide
State tax pages
Take a state tax expedition. Each of the states has its own way of gathering revenues from its residents.
 
Select:
State tax roundup
Connecticut


Connecticut assesses an income tax on its residents. The state has two brackets, 3 percent and 5 percent. More on Connecticut taxes can be found in the tabbed pages below.

Income
Sales
Property
Estate
Other
Personal income tax
Connecticut collects income taxes from its residents at the following rates:

-- For single filers and spouses filing separately, 3 percent on the first $10,000; 5 percent on the remaining income.
-- For married filing jointly taxpayers and surviving spouses, 3 percent on the first $20,000; 5 percent on the remaining income.
-- For head of household taxpayers, 3 percent on the first $16,000; 5 percent on the remaining income.
Connecticut residents must file the personal income tax Form CT-1040 by April 15. When that date falls on a weekend or holiday, filers get until the next business day to submit their state returns.

You may obtain other state tax forms at the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services Web site.
All wages of a Connecticut resident are subject to the state's income tax, even when the resident works outside of the state. However, in those cases, Connecticut income tax must be withheld only to the extent the Connecticut tax exceeds the amount withheld by the other jurisdiction.
Effective Jan. 1, 2006, taxpayers who have entered into a civil union recognized under Connecticut law must file their state income tax return as civil union filing jointly or civil union filing separately.
Sales tax
Connecticut levies a 6 percent state sales tax on the retail sale, lease or rental of most goods.
A 2005 law temporarily exempting home weatherization products from sales taxes was made permanent in 2007. The Department of Revenue Services Web site lists the exempt products.
Some items and services are not subject to sales and use taxes unless specifically enumerated as taxable by statute. Visit the relevant Web site for a list of exemptions from sales and use taxes.
There are no additional sales taxes imposed by local jurisdictions.
Personal and real property taxes
All real and personal property located within the state of Connecticut is taxable unless specifically exempted by statute. All assessments are at 70 percent of fair market value.
The state of Connecticut Office of Policy and Management Web site offers Word documents on which you can find your local assessor and your local tax collector.
Oct. 1 is the assessment date for all municipalities. All owners of personal property, other than registered motor vehicles, must file a declaration with the assessor on or before Nov. 1.
A Connecticut resident who made qualifying property tax payments on eligible property may be able to claim a credit against state income tax liability. The maximum property tax credit is $500 per return. Connecticut's Department of Revenue Services offers an online property tax credit calculator.
Inheritance and estate taxes
For estates of decedents who died on or after Jan. 1, 2005, Connecticut estate tax is due only on taxable estates valued at more than $2 million (including the first $2 million). These estates must file Form CT-706/709, Connecticut Estate and Gift Tax Return, with the Department of Revenue Services. A copy of Form CT-706/709 must also be filed with the appropriate Connecticut probate court.
While no Connecticut estate or gift tax is due on an estate worth $2 million or less, estates still must file Form CT-706 NT, Connecticut Estate Tax Return (For Nontaxable Estates), with the Connecticut probate court.
Other Connecticut tax facts
Through the state's Taxpayer Service Center, taxpayers can electronically file, pay, view income tax transactions, update account information and check state refund status. The service is free.
The state maintains an online delinquent taxpayer list.
Connecticut does not levy an intangible personal property tax.
For more information, call the Connecticut Department of Revenue at (860) 297-5962 or go to the Web site.
To download tax forms on this site, you will need to install a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here for instructions.
-- Updated: Feb. 2, 2009
   





 
- advertisement -
- advertisement -
- advertisement -