debt

State statutes of limitations for old debts

Statutes of limitations for each state:
StateWritten contractsOral contractsPromissory notesOpen accounts (including credit cards)
Alabama6663
Alaska6666
Arizona6353
Arkansas6353
California4244
Colorado6666
Connecticut6366
Delaware3363
D.C.3333
Florida5454
Georgia6464
Hawaii6666
Idaho54104
Illinois10565
Indiana106106
Iowa10555
Kansas5353
Kentucky15515**5
Louisiana1010103
Maine +6666
Maryland3363
Massachusetts6666
Michigan6666
Minnesotta6666
Mississippi3333
Missouri105105
Montana8585
Nebraska5464
Nevada6434
New Hampshire3363
New Jersey6666
New Mexico6464
New York6666
North Carolina3353
North Dakota6666
Ohio156156
Oklahoma5353
Oregon6666
Pennyslvania6446
Rhode Island15151010
South Carolina101033
South Dakota6666
Tennessee6666
Texas4444
Utah6464
Vermont666***6
Virginia5363
Washington6363
West Virginia10565
Wisconsin66106
Wyoming108108
* Six years if contract is for payment of money.
** Five years if promissory note is added to a bill of sale.
+ The applicable statue of limitations in Maine and Massachusetts on a debt owed to a bank or on a promissory note signed before a witness is 20 years. (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit.14, s 751; Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, s 1.)
*** Vermont's statue of limitations on a promissory note signed before a witness is 14 years.
Source: Bankrate.com

 

advertisement

Show Bankrate's community sharing policy
          Connect with us
Product Rate Change Last week
Balance Transfer Cards 15.67%  0.04 15.71%
Cash Back Cards 16.32%  0.04 16.36%
Low Interest Cards 10.91% --0.00 10.91%
 
Search
advertisement
CREDIT CARD WEEKLY NEWSLETTER

Get advice for managing credit cards, building your credit history and improving your credit score. Delivered weekly.

advertisement

Blog

Allison Ross

What’s your most embarassing number?

NFCC poll: 37 percent of respondents are most embarrassed to admit their credit card debt.  ... Read more

Partner Center
advertisement

Connect with us